Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016
Accepted Solution

DPI

So then when a gallery asks for images of my paintings at 300dpi what do I do.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,382
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPI

[ Edited ]

What post processing software are you using?  You can set a "DPI" value in an image file's metadata.  See Resolution below.

 

PaintDotNet_Resize.PNG

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016

Re: DPI

I use Gimp and/or zoner

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,382
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPI


@dskolberg wrote:

I use Gimp and/or zoner


I am not familiar with either one of those.  Perhaps someone who is can help.  I posted an image of a screenshot from the freeware application PaintDOTNet.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,971
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: DPI


@dskolberg wrote:

So then when a gallery asks for images of my paintings at 300dpi what do I do.



Unless you are using a flatbed scanner large enough to scan the painting at 300 dpi, don't worry about it.
If you are giving them a photo of the work you are limited by the megapixels of the camera. And then the DPI doesn't matter.
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: DPI

Image>scale image.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=8S2cnZ2QR70
DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 85/1.8, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,971
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: DPI

[ Edited ]

@Peter wrote:
Image>scale image.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=8S2cnZ2QR70

They are half tone DOTS, not spots. Because, half tone dots were created using an analog process (photographically through an actual physical screen) and existed long before printer dots came into play. 

 

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,025
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPI

[ Edited ]

DPI stands for Dots Per Inch. DPI is often misused. If someone says they want a photo that is 300 dpi what they really mean is they want 300 PPI.

 A digital photo has no PPI (or DPI).   PPI only happens when the photo is printed.


The resolution of a digital photo is in pixels or commonly MP.  To further complicate this most modern software like PS and LR and Gimp use 300 DPI to refer as a high resolution photo.  They all have a menu where this can be set.  It is found in the Printer Settings.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,185
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: DPI

Do the calculation. If the image is 10 x 12, then the image needs to be 3000 x 3600 pixels (the number of inches x the dpi).

 

If you have really large canvases you might have to take multiple pictures and mrege them for 300 dpi.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement