cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clear night time pictures.

April9586
Apprentice
I recently was bought a Canon T5 rebel and I would like to start taking professional style photos. I am very new to this and would appreciate any advice. Right now I'm trying to take a clear picture of the moon and I do not know the right settings or lenses to use. I am also interested in taking general photos of the night sky. I have up to a 300mm lens, a wide angle lense, a high def lens, and a variety of filters. Thank you
6 REPLIES 6

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@April9586 wrote:
I recently was bought a Canon T5 rebel and I would like to start taking professional style photos. I am very new to this and would appreciate any advice. Right now I'm trying to take a clear picture of the moon and I do not know the right settings or lenses to use. I am also interested in taking general photos of the night sky. I have up to a 300mm lens, a wide angle lense, a high def lens, and a variety of filters. Thank you

For pictures of the moon, Google 'Looney 11', yes seriously!

Most 'filters' are obsolete in the modern digital world. The exceptions are Circular Polarizing filters and Neutral Density filters. Though some of the effects of a Neutral Density filter can be duplicated digitally. 

For the moon you need a tripod.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

April,

"I have up to a 300mm lens, a wide angle lense, a high def lens, and a variety of filters."

IMHO, a 300mm lens is really too short for a good Moon shot.  I generally use a 600mm.  For whole sky shots I like the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC Lens For Canon (there are others, too).  The "variety of filters" are useless.

You need a sturdy tripod.  Not any such thing that is included in the so-called kits.  The tripod will be in the $200+ bracket.