Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2019

Change Aperture

Hello,

 

I am trying to change the aperture. I am watching youtube videos and they are telling me to press down the the Av button while I turn the button right behind the shutter button. It is not changing it at all. Is that an error? I have a Canon Rebel T6. Thank you!

Product Expert
Product Expert
Posts: 915
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Change Aperture

khopev, 

We are sorry to hear this occurs.  What lens are you using on this camera? 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,466
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Change Aperture

What mode are you in? You need to be in M
VIP
Posts: 11,491
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Change Aperture

[ Edited ]

"You need to be in M"

 

Maybe! But we need to know what lens before stating that.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,466
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Change Aperture

What does the lens have to do with it? They all change apertures.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Change Aperture

[ Edited ]

@khopev wrote:

Hello,

 

they are telling me to press down the the Av button while I turn the button right behind the shutter button.


The instructions you quote are correct if you want to shoot specifically in full Manual mode. 

If all you want to do is control the Depth of Field (i.e. what's in focus), and have the camera set up the shutter speed, then you are better off to set the camera to Av on the mode dial.  The following instructions work for that.  I would recommend using Av mode if you are just starting off.

 

1.  You FIRST turn the mode dial to Av. 

     That now sets the camera to allow you to select the aperture and it will select the shutter speed and (if you have auto ISO set, that too). 

2.  Look through the viewfinder and GENTLY half-press the shutter to see the current settings.

3.  THEN immediately after releasing your finger from the shutter button, and using the same finger, turn the dial directly behind the shutter button to the desired value to change the Aperture.  If you look through the viewfinder while doing so you should see the aperture value change.

Note: you will not see a significant change in what appears to be in focus, that is because the camera continues to keep the aperture fully open to let you get the most light for composition until you take the shot. It will then set the aperture and shoot.

4.  Once you have the desired setting fully press the shutter button. 

 

I recommend downloading the manual (if you don't have one) HERE and read that.   Av is explained on P110.

"All the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris
"I have never been able to enlarge a photograph... I am just interested in the shots" Henri Cartier-Bresson
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2019

Re: Change Aperture

I am using the 18-55 mm lens. Just took two pics outside and they are way too bright. I am set on M and across the top of the screen is 1/200, F5.6, and ISO400. Thanks!IMG_0486.JPG

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2019

Re: Change Aperture

I am in M, lens is 18-55m, across the top of the screen it reads 1/200, f5.6, iso 400. Thank you

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2019

Re: Change Aperture

Thank you!

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,466
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Change Aperture

What made you set those parameters? Where you going by the meter in the viewfinder?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement