cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Challenges in taking a good picture of the moon using a Canon EOS Rebel T6i

SparkyPatel
Apprentice

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie when it comes to good photography. I have been unsuccessful in taking a good picture of the moon, although I can see the surfacew featurees clearly in the viewfinder of my Canon EOS Rebel T6i. Every time I take a picture, all i get is a white blurry disk even after putting the camera on a good stable tripod. I am using a Canon EFS55-250mm lensin the autofocus mode and stabilizer on. I have tried different modes, turned off the flash, but no success yet.

Can you please provide me with any tips that could help me resolve this issue? I would really appreciate that.

9 REPLIES 9

John_
Authority

First thing I would suggest in addition to the tripod is a remote shutter switch, either wired or wireless they are not expensive. That will remove any chance of movement while pressing the shutter switch at long zooms and slow shutter speeds

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend
Use manual focusing faster via Live View.
Use manual exposure. 1/100 f/11 ISO 200.
--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

If you have a "white blurry disk" you need to turn down the exposure 1 - 2 stops. Make sure that it follows the "looney 11 rule."  (google it) (You can just use manual with this rule, too.) You could also use spot metering.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Start with the Looney Rule, f/11 at ISO 100 and 1/100th second shutter speed. It is similar to the Sunny 16 Rule except for full Moon shots.  I would use manual focus.

However, the "I am using a Canon EFS55-250mm lens", is way too short for Moon photos. Consider getting a longer FL telephoto lens.  Any of the super zooms in the 150-600mm range are good. Even more FL than 600mm is nice but that usually involves a real sky telescope.