cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon rebel t6, is it any good?

NiganKhan
Apprentice

Hello everyone,,

I'm a student filmmaker (oh no, not another one of these ones), and I'm looking to buy my first camera to start shooting my short films. Recently I found a kit on sale, which contains a Canon Rebel t6 with two lenses (18-55, 75-300)

The price that I pay for the kit is 796,19 dollars (have in mind I live in a country where the prices have gone very up, so yeah, its pretty expensive)

Now, I know that the equipment doesn't make the filmmaker, and a good film can be done with anything, but I'm sick of shooting with cheap ass rented cameras. I want to own one that I can take with me and start planing my videos.

Is it worth it? or is there any other camera that worths more the bucks? If I throw a few more dollars, can I get something really better?

8 REPLIES 8

The T6 is a good entry-level camera, but one a serious photographer is likely to soon outgrow. And on any DSLR, video tends to be an afterthought. I suggest that you download the manual and verify that it has the features you (and your instructors) think you'll need.

Also, be very suspicious of kits, other than those put together by Canon itself. They often contain mediocre lenses and a lot of useless junk. They're rarely as good a buy as their sellers would have you believe.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend
Bob is correct regarding video being an after thought. It is especially true of the T6. For one, the T6 lacks mic input, so you will be forced to rely on the built in mic.

The T6 is good for recording short video clips of kids running around the yard to show grandparents. But that is about it.
--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I found a kit on sale, which contains a Canon Rebel t6 with two lenses (18-55, 75-300)"