cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon T5i - Disappointing Limitations??

dsmyth411
Apprentice

Hello Canon Community,

I am a DSLR newbie who just purchased a T5i kit with 18-55mm IS STM stock lense and also added a 55-250mm IS II zoom lense.

I have been testing the camera by shooting my favorite subjects in bright sunny daylight - family, close-up portraits, kids, distant portraits, architecture, and landscapes.  I have tested all the SCENE settings for skyline shots at night.

Aside from sunny, very still, close-up portraits of family, which have been good, and daytime landscapes decent, I unfortunately have to say that I have been surprisingly DISAPPOINTED with the results of the T5i straight out of the box, using all the Auto-Preset settings at highest size/resolution.   So I just want to check in with others to see if my expectations of the T5i are too high, or if better results can ONLY be achieved in Manual settings or with better expensive lenses.  Because I have been using a Powershot A510 the past 10 years and it seems to produce nearly the same results using the presets!  I feel like I have also seen photos just as good taken with friends' iPhones and Androids.

All my photos, whether with the stock lense or zoom lense, are blurry, grainy, or noisy when viewed on my computer at 'actual size'.  At reduced web-viewing size they look fine.  But I would like some of my skyline shots to be printable at actual large-format size, and blurry buildings and windows are just not acceptable.  With the zoom lense at the beach on a sunny day, birds and sailboats are not sharp from afar, even using a tripod, and with the auto-focus pin-pointed on the subjects!  All nighttime skyline settings have tons of noise and grain at actual size, once again using a tripod.