Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
VIP
Posts: 11,651
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot

On most of the Rebels, especially the newer ones like the T5i and T6i, the mother board and chassis is very close to the outside case.  I believe your tripod screw is too long and is pushing on or contacting the chassis and shorting it.  As Rebels got smaller there is less tolerance.  Even if it is not shorting it may be compressing the two together that should not be.  Stop using that tripod is good advice.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
VIP
Posts: 8,619
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot

Is that an alignment stud on the plate?  Your Rebel has no notch for it.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot


@TTMartin wrote:

@nhoc_quay515 wrote:

So I tried with the cardboards and 2 gift cards ( just to find if the surfaces make any difference) between the plate and the camera, but it did not work at all, sadly.

After I played with the mounting plate and my camera for a while, I realized few more things:

- If the camera was already on, and I tighten the plate on it (with or without the cardboards in the between), the camera worked fine (both in live view and view finder) for some time like about 20 pictures or less. Then it will show the purple-ish screen.
- If the camera was off when I tighten it, when I turned the camera on, it would show the purple-ish screen. Then when I unscrew the stud a little and switch between view finder/ live view, it goes back to normal. I dont have to turn the camera off and on again.

-Lastly, before it comeplete turns to purple-ish screen, the was some gray vignetting in 4 corners of the screen, then they quickly fade away.

 

Hope these can give you guys more clues. Smiley Happy

 

David.


STOP USING THAT TRIPOD PLATE!!!

 

Obviously it is damaging your camera.


I have used other tripods but the camera still has the same problem. So i'm looking for a solution to fix my camera. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot

I think there is, but they are not Canon store. It's a warehouse that sales cameras and gears in general Smiley Happy. But I'll definitely take my camera there and ask them.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot

Thanks everyone. I'll replace my tripod. Any advice for a sturdy and compact tripod for my T5i camera?

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 8,619
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon T5i (700D) shows black screen when screwing on a tripot

[ Edited ]

@nhoc_quay515 wrote:

Thanks everyone. I'll replace my tripod. Any advice for a sturdy and compact tripod for my T5i camera?


Beware of tripod kits.  Just like camera kits, they cut corners somewhere, and it is usually the tripod head.  If you buy a tripod kit with a ball head MAKE SURE that the ball head has a FRICTION adjustment.  A ball head is useless without it.  In fact, most heads, except for gimbals, are pretty useless without some sort of friction control.

The best way to buy a tripod is to pick out a set of sturdy legs, and to pick your ideal head.  Build your own tripod kit.  I think Benro is one of the best tripod lineups on the market for photo enthusiasts.  They also make pretty good ball heads, too.  I use the B3 ball head, on two tripods.

 

I prefer video tripods, because they are far more stable than photo-oriented tripods.  Video tripods typically lack a center column.  I also prefer tripod heads that are compatible with "Arca-Swiss" quick release mounts.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement