Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2021
Accepted Solution

Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

[ Edited ]

Hi there!

 

I am shooting remotely with my laptop and I am using external flash with a remote trigger in a hotshoe.

I am using low ISO because flash will pop so my exposure simulation darkens the screen few seconds after the camera focuses an object.

That makes it very hard to set up the scene.

Is there a way to disable exposure simulation? I cannot find it in settings.

Is there a workaround?

 

Thank You in advance.

VIP
Posts: 13,712
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Are you using full auto?   Don't !

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2021

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

[ Edited ]

I am using manual mode.

Auto focus,

Camera is connected to laptop with cable.

VIP
Posts: 13,712
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Do a reset of the camera.  The flash should not operate in M mode unless you set something up.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2021

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Ah I see what confuses You.

I did not mention that the flash is external and that I am using a remote trigger in a hotshoe.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎02-23-2020

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Are you using a tripod?

 

Sometimes when using a flash setup (with no modeling lights), I will switch to Live View and lower shutter speed and/or increase IOS to fine-tune the framing.   Then, reset back to 1/200s (whater is your max sync speed value), set back ISO and take the shot with the flashes.

 

This of course is just an estimate as when working with Live View, you're just playing with the ambient light.

--
Ricky

EOS 5D IV, 50mm f/1.2L, 135mm f/2L, 600EX-RT (x6), ST-E3-RT, Vixia HF G50
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2021

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Sometimes I use a tripod, sometimes I shoot from the hand.

 

Boosting ISO is a good idea, tune the frame in live view, than set ISO back to take a shot.

 

Thank You good sir!

VIP
Posts: 11,272
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation


@Thaida wrote:

Hi there!

 

I am shooting remotely with my laptop and I am using external flash with a remote trigger in a hotshoe.

I am using low ISO because flash will pop so my exposure simulation darkens the screen few seconds after the camera focuses an object.

That makes it very hard to set up the scene.

Is there a way to disable exposure simulation? I cannot find it in settings.

Is there a workaround?

 

Thank You in advance.


I am far from being an expert on using external flash gear and strobes.  But, I do not believe that E-TTL metering works with Live View.  Live View uses actual sensor to meter the scene, while the OVF uses a separate metering sensor, which is typically located the top of the viewfinder.

 

I believe E-TTL metering relies on the actual metering sensor used when you shoot through the OVF.  Your darkened images with the Exposure Simulation just may be accurate, however.  They could be representing the scene without the flash.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2021

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation

Hello!

 

When I shoot the images they look fine, I just have issues placing things in a frame with a black screen Smiley Happy.

VIP
Posts: 11,272
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon SL3 Rebel - exposure simulation


@Thaida wrote:

Hello!

 

When I shoot the images they look fine, I just have issues placing things in a frame with a black screen Smiley Happy.


Exactly!  You are seeing the exposure minus the flash.  The following is from the manual for the SL2.

 

B7053BAF-5130-4081-AC11-2EB0DD037AD5.jpeg

 

If you have not downloaded a copy of the full User Guide for the SL3 you can download it from the same product support page where you downloaded Canon software.

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement