Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,111
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

I was thinking that, if you have a mono mic, you could be shorting one side, maybe both if you don't push it all the way in.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

Right - that may be it. I will try and find an adapter and give it  try. I know for a fact it was pushed all the way in .... believe me, I tried! Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

Just to share, I found a TRSS to TRS adaptor and that did the trick - bottom line is - the original 3.5 mm (TRSS) had three small rings (4 poles) while the TRS only has two rings (3 poles). Once I used the 3 poles (TRS) the issue was resolved. I hope I got that right Smiley Happy

 

Thanks all for the good advice!   

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 606
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

And thanks for reporting back with that information. Not everybody will take the time to do that. Robot Frustrated

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

My pleasure. Hopefully it will help someone in the future. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

initially external microphone worked but now it stopped and giving the same error as u had

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External

I also had this same issue. From what I have found that does not mean the mic isn't working. It means the wind filter is turned off. I hope that's true and I am still getting decent audio. I will do a test tonight with the mic plugged in and pulled out. But almost positive that's what that symbol means. It has appeared to me in all most whether + or manual or any creative modes. Try setting wind filter to on and see if the symbol still sticks around.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2020

Re: Canon SL2 Microphone - External no sound

Hi there,

I have the sound settings set to manual and I am still having a problem Recording any sound whether the external mic is on or off the camera.  Still have a mic with three rings in the word off showing on the screen (in Manuel mode)  when the external mic is plugged in.  I am using the LOTURE external mic On my Canon EOS SL2.  

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement