Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-25-2018
Accepted Solution

Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

Is there a way to fix my Sigma 70-300mm lens. when I put it on my Rebel XTI  I get an error 99? There is a guy in Canada that says he has a re-chip for it, which requires opening the lens, cutting and soldering on the inside.

VIP
Posts: 8,645
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm


@WilliamsBlades wrote:

Is there a way to fix my Sigma 70-300mm lens. when I put it on my Rebel XTI  I get an error 99? There is a guy in Canada that says he has a re-chip for it, which requires opening the lens, cutting and soldering on the inside.


My first instinct says pass on the offer from “a guy in Canada.”

 

Do other lenses work properly with the camera?  
Do other cameras also have an error message with that lens?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-25-2018

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

[ Edited ]

My Canon 18-55 lens (Kit lens) works well on the camera; it is only this Sigma Lens that gives me an error 99. I do not know if it works with other cameras as this is my only camera. I do not see any indication of external damage.

 

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

[ Edited ]

You don't have many options.

 

Sigma wise, no options.  Lens cannot be updated unless by Sigma (themselves) and I don't see any mention of FW as this is not a Global Vision, Sport, Art or C Series lens.

 

The Canon XTI has a FW update (v1.1.1), but it doesn't state anything in regards to Sigma Lens compatibility...  Adds 3 new (Canon) lenses and Polish Language.

 

Canon Japan

http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosdigital3/e4kr3_firmware-e.html

 

Same but US:

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/support-dslr/eos-digital-r...

 

My recommendation.  Time for a new body.  That lens on any APS-C camera is the equivlent of 112-480mm.

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-25-2018

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

Thank you for the reply. I should have mentioned the first thing I did was update the software to 1.1.1 and it did not fix it either. I was given the camera so I'm not out any money so maybe the best option is to upgrade to something a little newer but also in the affordable range.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

Have you talked to Sigma?

VIP
Posts: 11,678
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

"I should have mentioned the first thing I did was update the software to 1.1.1 and it did not fix it either."

 

Canon does not update or even create FW to make off brand lenses work with their cameras.  That just ain't gonna happen.

Your only solution is to try the lens on a different camera.  I suspect it will not work with it either as I think the lens is faulty.

We know your camera is good as you stated your other kit lens works fine.  Error 99 means either the camera is broken, which includes the CF card, or the lens is.  Process of tedious elimination leaves us to look at the lens.  Make sense?

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-25-2018

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

Makes perfect sense, thank you. Are these lenses repairable or even worth repairing?
VIP
Posts: 11,678
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

"Are these lenses repairable or even worth repairing?"

 

Well William without being unkind, no, probably not.  They sell for $200 bucks if my memory serves me correctly.  A good used one around a C note.  I think I would look new/used if you are certain the lens is the problem.

 

You really need another camera to try it on.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Canon Rebel XTI error 99 - Sigma 70-300mm

Again, contact Sigma. If it is just a firmware update it might be pretty cheap.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement