cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera won't autofocus. Is this an issue with the lens or camera itself? Will a new lens fix this?

sm1432
Apprentice

I'm new to this camera. When we got it the guy told us up front that the autofocus is broken.  Is this an issue with the lens or camera itself? Will a new lens fix this? Manual focus works just fine.

13 REPLIES 13

Tiffany

Hi SM1432!

So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know exactly what model camera and lens you're using. Any other details you'd like to give will also help the Community better understand your issue.

Thanks and have a great day!

Skirball
Authority

You knowingly bought a camera where the seller told you the autofocus was broken?

I assume it's a Rebel, since that's the forum this is in.  SLR cameras have an autofocus system in the camera, and the lens itself has its own “system”.  So it could be either the camera or the lens that has the broken AF.  It’s more likely the lens, but you never know.  First thing I’d do is to get a second lens (borrow or rent) and see what happens.  Make sure you check the switch on your current (and second) lens to see that it’s selected AF.

It's a friends. I have not purchased it yet, just been borrowing it/considering purchasing it. I wanted to look into this auto focus thing first. On the current lens, the AF is selected. I guess I'll have to do like you said and borrow or rent a lens and try it with that. I just wasn't sure if the answer was clearly the lens or the camera, and wanted to find out before I went through the trouble of trying out a new lens.