Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-28-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

4549292030044 I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY IXUS 160 PRODUCT CODE: 4549292030044
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-18-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

I also have the same problem as I was reading in the forum. My cannon rebel XS shows busy when I try to take a picture in Auto mode. I have set the settings back to factory settings & cleared all custom functions. 

 

I can take a pic when I switch the lens to MF, but not able to take a pic in AF mode. A friend changed some settings on the camera and not sure how to get it back to normal.

 

If you have any suggestions, they would be helpful.

 

Thank you.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,723
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures


@benzfamily3 wrote:

I also have the same problem as I was reading in the forum. My cannon rebel XS shows busy when I try to take a picture in Auto mode. I have set the settings back to factory settings & cleared all custom functions. 

 

I can take a pic when I switch the lens to MF, but not able to take a pic in AF mode. A friend changed some settings on the camera and not sure how to get it back to normal.

 

If you have any suggestions, they would be helpful.

 

Thank you.


Have you gone through the menus to see what is configured?  Make sure exposure bracketing is not active.  Turn off any and all automatic compensation settings.  Busy means it is likely trying to write, or read, something on the memory card.

 

Your camera could be experiencing difficulty writing to the card.  Make sure that your memory card isn't full.  Make sure the current folder to store images hasn't been filled up, because a single folder can only hold so many images.  Make sure that the next image number is available and not being used, because they can only go up to so high.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-29-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

I just baught a Rebel EOS SL1. I am having the same issue with the" busy" as everyone else. I thought I would watch vidios you posted.They were marked privete. I amjust going to return mine and buy a differante brand. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-18-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

Try going into a different lighting setting and see if your camera shoots in Auto Mode. I also downloaded the REBEL EOS manual from the Cannon site to check where I would go in the menus with the other contributor suggestions and performed them.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-29-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

Thanks I have all ready returned it. I baught a Nikon D7200. I want buy another Canon. Not a new one anyway.I will buy an older one 1980s-1995.

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-05-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

It sure seems that model is a giant LEMON as I do believe the majority of posters are trying to use one. I have had Canon Rebels since the original XT and have had absolutely no challenges that weren't user error.


@deborahbuege wrote:

Thanks I have all ready returned it. I baught a Nikon D7200. I want buy another Canon. Not a new one anyway.I will buy an older one 1980s-1995.


 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-18-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

I'm having the very same issue

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

I am having the same problem with Canon EOS, Rebel T5i, using EFS 18-55mm lens that came with camera.  Getting a busy signal when using AF.  

When i first used the camera, it seemed to work fine.  

now 6 months later, it refuses to take some pictures.  it does seem to be having trouble locking in.

I have played around with different settings.  I first had a problem outside on a sunny day.  The images the camera did take were fuzzy.  I have been taking pictures all over the house in different lighting conditions.  It will take some picures, but refuses to focus in most conditions.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-15-2016

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

Thank you for your detailed reply.  I have been reading lots of posts re this issue as I was also experiencing the same problem.  I just could not work out what I was doing wrong (was just about ready to throw the camera out..ggrr...), but after reading your post and understanding it better, I have been able to fix the problem and get it working again. (AF/MF) Thank you for taking the time and sharing this knowledge.  

 

FYI: EOS60D, I was shooting yesterday at my son's 13th party at the Kart track, afternoon sun, Canon EF 75-300mm lens when it said BUSY.  I tried everything I could think of at the time, clean contacts, changed lenses etc. It just wouldn't work (was not happy). Today when I have pulled it out to down load, it was still saying and doing the same thing. So I reformatted the sd card, cleaned contacts, changed lenses, tried to reset nothing was working.  So glad I came across your post. 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement