Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2018

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

I am having the exact same problem. I formatted card, switched lenses and reset the camera following some youtube video instructions. about every 4 pictures it gives me this error.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

I just received a Canon refurb 6D.  Seemed brand-new, always had great luck with Canon refurbs in the past.  Worked great for about 2 days, then this started.  Low-level formatted card, reset camera settings, everything.  Swapped SD cards (SanDisk Ultra 80MB/sec), same thing.  Super unhappy.  Gonna send this back.

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 606
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

Please reply back here about how your problem is resolved.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

Spent a few minutes on the phone with Canon tech support (Kevin).  He was great.  He listened to my story, did not make me repeat all my prior efforts, had me do one more simple test, and pronounced my camera defective.  Since it was just purchased directly from Canon I had the choice of a warranty repair or refund.  I chose refund, was put through to a very friendly and helpful salesperson (Christina) who worked through an RMA and exchange.  Actually got me a new 6D MkII body for hardly any more money, since they had no more 6D refurbs in stock.  All in all I received excellent customer support, IMO.

 

In the space of an hour I went from a pissed-off customer to a happy one.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera locks up, recording message


@mckeek wrote:

Spent a few minutes on the phone with Canon tech support (Kevin).  He was great.  He listened to my story, did not make me repeat all my prior efforts, had me do one more simple test, and pronounced my camera defective.  Since it was just purchased directly from Canon I had the choice of a warranty repair or refund.  I chose refund, was put through to a very friendly and helpful salesperson (Christina) who worked through an RMA and exchange.  Actually got me a new 6D MkII body for hardly any more money, since they had no more 6D refurbs in stock.  All in all I received excellent customer support, IMO.

 

In the space of an hour I went from a pissed-off customer to a happy one.


You will love the 6D2.  The 45 cross type AF points are very accurate, which also allow the camera to track moving subjects very well.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2020

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

I have just had the same thing happen to my 5D Mkiii - the same error came up and continued with the power off. Now I can't get the camera to even power up, although it is trying to read the card when I switch it on. I've changed the card, no change to the power situation so I can't even reset to factory settings. Gutted. It's only got about a shutter count of about 15,000 (I'd bought it second hand so no idea if it still has a warranty or not). @Canon, is this likely to be a repair job?

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera locks up, recording message


@Angelam1 wrote:

I have just had the same thing happen to my 5D Mkiii - the same error came up and continued with the power off. Now I can't get the camera to even power up, although it is trying to read the card when I switch it on. I've changed the card, no change to the power situation so I can't even reset to factory settings. Gutted. It's only got about a shutter count of about 15,000 (I'd bought it second hand so no idea if it still has a warranty or not). @Canon, is this likely to be a repair job?



Sorry, to hear about your camera issues.  If you have had the used camera for more than 6 months, it is unlikely that your camera is still covered by a guarantee, which is a little different from a warranty.

 

Try powering up the camera without a lens or any memory cards.  Push come to shove.  Remove the battery, and fully press the shutter for at least 10 seconds.  This can fully clear the cameras internal memory, including the date and time.


Reinsert the battery.  If you still have issues without a lens or memory card, then your camera body probably needs service.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2020

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

Brilliant! It worked!! Thanks so much, very grateful. Smiley Happy
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera locks up, recording message


@Angelam1 wrote:
Brilliant! It worked!! Thanks so much, very grateful. Smiley Happy

You're welcome.  I am happy things worked out for you.  I forgot to say that you need to first turn on power without a battery, and THEN hold the shutter for at least 10 seconds.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Re: Camera locks up, recording message

I have been having the same issue. It started around a year and a half ago and it's gotten worse, now i can't even shoot a few shots without it getting stuck and sometimes from the first shot it just stops working and the photo number starts blinking. First time i reset the camera to factory settings it worked fine for a while but then the whole thing started again. I've used different SD cards it's still the same. My camera is fairly new and i had a friend take it apart to check the camera mirror box and what not and he even was surprised to see how new the camera was. Called canon support and even they didn't know what was wrong with the camera and it can't be from the SD cards. Told me to bring it in for a check up, haven't gotten around to do it yet.
Any update from anyone here? Have you found a fix?
I'e restored camera settings and formatted the SD cards multiple times, didn't work
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement