cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blurry Photos

danaillie
Contributor

I am very new to photography.  I just got my camera at the end of March.  I love to take photos my son at sporting events.  He is in Taekwondo and when taking photos at tournaments, we are not allowed to have a flash.  Many of the photos I took recently are blurry.  How do I change the shutter speed when in no flash mode?

Danaillie

12 REPLIES 12

What kind of computer do you have? What OS? What photo software do you use?

Do your other pictures come out sharp?

With your 55mm lens, is your son big enough in the frame, or are you enlarging the photo on the computer?

Hi Danaillie, don't worry about feeling like a novice.  Everyone was a novice at some point.

What software do you normally use to view and edit your images and are you using a PC or a Mac?

Canon does include their "Digital Photo Professional" software with your camera and you can also download it from their support site.  

You can find it on this page:  https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/support-dslr/eos-rebel-t1i...

To resize your image using Digital Photo Professional, there's an option in the "File" menu to "Convert and save..."  It will open a window similar to this one:

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 1.29.12 PM.png

Set the "Save as type" choice to "Exif-JPEG" (that's a JPEG file that still retains the EXIF data which has all the shooting information).

The output resolution isn't actually important.  My example has it set to 300, but the value wont change what the image looks like.

DO check the "Resize" box and also make sure the box is checked for "Lock aspect ratio" (which means the image will still maintain it's correct proportions when you resize it.)