cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blurry Photos

danaillie
Contributor

I am very new to photography.  I just got my camera at the end of March.  I love to take photos my son at sporting events.  He is in Taekwondo and when taking photos at tournaments, we are not allowed to have a flash.  Many of the photos I took recently are blurry.  How do I change the shutter speed when in no flash mode?

Danaillie

12 REPLIES 12

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Danaillie,

You may not need to change your SS.  What is your ISO set on?  For indoor sports you need a fairly high ISO number. 3200 or so depending on model of camera.

You didn't mention which camera and lens you have?  Guessing a Rebel with the standard kit lens, for example, may present a real challenge to get sharp photos of indoor sports because of the very slow kit lens.  If it is a Rebel and you are using the 'green square' mode, as you have noticed, it won't work.

Can you provide more info on camera/lens and lighting situation.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thank you so much for replying.  I had the camera set to the standard "No Flash" setting.  It is the mode that had the flash symbol with a slash through it.  I am not sure what the ISO is set to at the setting.  When I get home with my camera I can reply back to you.  I am also using the Canon Zoom lens 18-55mm.  

Danaillie

Still don't know which camera you have.  Your camera should have a TV mode, which is  "Time Value." It lets you adjust the shutter speed manually.  Some also have Sport and low light settings as pre-sets.  Have you read your manual, which explains the various settings, modes, and how to use them?

I have a Canon EOS Ti Rebel

danaillie said.........

"I just got my camera at the end of March."

Then she said........

"I have a Canon EOS Ti Rebel"