Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

Try moving the jack while it is plugged in and see if the interference changes/goes away as you move it around.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2019

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

I have tried that and it didn’t do anything either. 

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

What audio format are those external microphones putting out? Your camera wants a linear PCM audio signal. I am not an audio engineer, just trying to help you out. The recommended mic for your camera is the Canon DM E1 which runs on a button battery. Here is the link to specs for that microphone  for you to possibly compare to those you have tried: https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/products/details/cameras/microphones/directional-m...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2019

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

It doesn’t happen when I use the cameras mic. I’ve tried both powered (my Rodes mic) and unpowered (the Pergear) that I have listed above. Also I’ve tried 2 different lavaliers and I have the same issue. I’ve tried 2 different aux cables as well.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

Right, your internal mic works right only those external mics are giving you problems. When you insert the external mic plug into the jack it should disconnect your internal mic and connect to the external mic. I checked one of your mics, the Rodeo one you said you are currently using and there are differences in the specs, different from the Canon recommended mic DM-E1. I am not qualified to say they are causing your problems perhaps someone else here is.

Going back to your input jack, it is also possible when the external plug is inserted it is not disconnecting your internal microphone completely and causing that buzzing noise. I can see how important this is to you and you have put in a lot of effort to find an answer rather than waiting for one to come to you.

If there is a camera shop nearby or maybe even a Best Buy maybe you could bring your equipment in there and they can find out what is going on.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,308
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

The why does it work when the laptop is battery only?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

I do not know and the Asus does the same I think was said too. Perhaps the ground on the input jack is defective somehow or the connection from the jack to the PC board and picks up some low-frequency noise from the power supply when it is plugged in?

VIP
Posts: 8,042
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility


@mickifan77 wrote:

Here's what I just got done testing:

 

TEST #1:

 

TEST #2:

 

TEST #3:

 

TEST #4:

 

TEST #5:

 

TEST #6

 

The next time I cycled through everything from above except I changed the white cable from the camera to the mic to a gray one I have.  Everything stayed the same when power cord was pllugged in.

 

These are the microphnes I tried:

  • Rode VideoMicro Compact On-Camera Microphone with Rycote Lyre Shock Mount (this the current one I use)
  • K&F Shotgun Microphone, Concept CM-500 Professional Interview Mic Recording for Nikon Canon DSLR Camera Gopro Hero 4 (Need 3.5mm Interface)
  • Pergear Video Camera Camcorder Shotgun Microphone Uni-Directional System Condenser Mic for Canon Nikon Cameras

 

 

Then I unplugged the cord from the camera to the mic and used the microphone from the camera and it sounded PERFECT and it didn't matter if it was plugged in to power or not.

 

 

 

Now I'm wondering if the jack port is bad. What do any of you think?


Your tests were thorough, but completely meaningless.  The tests only served to confirm what you already know, facts which were never in doubt.  What is in doubt is the connection to the camera.  Take a look at this recent thread.

https://community.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/Rode-not-working-with-80d/m-p/268797#M37553

 

Someone was using the wrong microphone, which I suspect is your problem.  Nearly all Canon consumer DSLR cameras use the same type of microphone input.  Do not assume there is something wrong with the gear.  

 

Most problems of this type are usually caused by operator error.  Unfortunately, microphone specs are not well documented, and some of is guess work, and trial and error.

 

I could only find info on the Rode microphone. I will ignore the other two models.  The Rode appears to need to phantom power, but I am not sure if the SL1 can output phantom power.  Probably not, but I cannot find any specs one way or the other.

 

I think you either have the wrong type of microphone, or the wrong type of adapter connecting the microphone.  You most likely need a TRS plug to go into the camera.  But, I cannot find any specs on the SL1 to either confirm or deny this guess.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,308
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

I guess I can't provide a link, but you probably need a ground-isolated USB connector. Since you are not transferring power from the PC to the camera it should work.

 

Google "Adafruit USB isolator" for an example, but you might need high speed.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 8,042
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Audio issues when using my MacBook Pro and EOS Utility

[ Edited ]

@mickifan77 wrote:
It doesn’t happen when I use the cameras mic. I’ve tried both powered (my Rodes mic) and unpowered (the Pergear) that I have listed above. Also I’ve tried 2 different lavaliers and I have the same issue. I’ve tried 2 different aux cables as well.

Can you take pictures of the plugs on the microphones, plus any adapters they might have, and post them?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement