cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adjusting the shutter speed

Hillera
Contributor
When in manual mode I can’t adjust the shutter speed to over 200.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority

If you are using flash, the shutter speed is automatically limited to 1/200.

Mike Sowsun

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26

I purchased the EF 50mm F1.8 and what a difference it makes, thanks for the recommendation.  I am still learning but I am already noticing big improvements in my photos.  I sat in the first bleacher this week and used my new lense.  I still have so much to learn but am excited to keep trying.  Here is a picture I took at tip off on Monday.

tipoff.JPG

Looking good, Mom!  Don't forget to set your WB to the type of lights used in your gym.  Looks like tungsten so set it appropriately.  Better yet shoot in Raw mode and set the WB in post edit.

You are on your way, Good job. Smiley Happy

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Which photo editing software do you use?

I use Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom.  A maybe better and cheaper alternative for Mom's is Photoshop Elements 2019.  It is as close to actual PS as you can get. But it does a lot of the cataloging and social media stuff Mom's like. It does have a learning curve but is basically pretty user friendly.

EB

@Hillera wrote:

Which photo editing software do you use?

Use Canon’s free DPP, Digital Photo Professional, software.  

Photoshop Elements is not what it used to be.  Since Adobe began the subscription software model, Photoshop Elements includes a crippled version of ACR, Adobe Camera Raw, that can no longer perfrom lens correction.  I can no longer recommend PSE to anyone.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."