cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A few questions.

Kohaku
Contributor

Hey, I'm an amateur photographer with a few questions. I bought a Canon Powershot SX50 almost a year ago now, and I love it, especially the Zoom, but I'm really debating the Canon EOS Rebel T6 as a step up, especially since it's on sale at a few places where I live. I just have a few questions.

Can I use the same battery for my old Canon Powershot SX50 in the T Rebel?

What's the zoom like in comparison? Can I get up close and personal to the moon?

I mostly take scenery, landscape and astrophotography or photos of the moon in general. Would the T Rebel be a better camera for this?

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority

Rebel cameras take you into the world of Interchangeable Lens Cameras. The camera is just a body. You have to buy lenses for it.  Good lenses can be very expensive but there are bargains out there. 

As as for getting really close to the moon, the kind of lens that would take would be very very expensive. The superzoom compact cameras like yours are the cheaper way to go.  With their tiny sensors they can give a very high telephoto with a very inexpensive built in lens. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

And no, the battery wouldn't be interchangeable.