cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zooming for action sports

pisapa
Apprentice

I just bought a Rebel T6s with 18-135 lens and was wondering if I should buy a lens with a better zoom for taking pictures of my boys playing hockey. I am a newbie when it comes to higher end cameras so please excuse my questions.

Thanks in advance

14 REPLIES 14

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

You could get a 55-250 zoom, whcih would almost be twice the magnifcation. It would be a good starter lens. You want the STM version of the lens.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Thanks John.

Do they play indoors or outdoors? Could make a difference on recommended lenses. Also be sure to set the camera to use AI Servo for the auto focus & pick a shutter speed that freezes the action. In Tv mode 1/500 or faster should get the job done or you can try the "Sport" mode but either way slow shutter speeds need to be avoided. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

If this is indoor hockey and not outdoor daylight pond hockey, I would be most worried about having a larger aperture lens to let more light into the camera, to deal with the need for a fast shutter to capture fast action in low light.   You may not be happy with the result if you are in fact indoors and you get another, longer, variable small aperture lens.  

To render a properly exposed image the camera needs light.  

Shutter speed. You could get more light into the camera by using a slower shutter speed, but not if your subjects are moving quickly.  For something quick like hockey you actually have to use a short shutter speed, like the 1/500th minimum Ernie proscribes, or maybe even faster. So that further intensifies your lack of light problem.