cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the best lenses for EOS M200 for landscapes?

cdlibrizzi01
Apprentice

Hi there!  Total beginner here!  My husband, kids and I overland often and I was gifted a Canon EOS M200 a year or so ago and I’m just now busting it out to take photos on our overlanding trips.  What are the best lenses for the EOS M200 for landcapes?  

3 REPLIES 3

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

Look into the Canon EF-M 11-22mm F/4-5.6 IS STM lens. But keep this in mind that EOS-M/ the EF-M mount is on its way out. It is being replaced by APS-C RF Mount cameras. I wouldn't invest too much money into lenses. EF-M lenses CANNOT be adapted to RF Mount cameras or to EF/ EF-S Mount DSLR cameras either.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D & Sigma 17-50mm F/2.8 EX DC OS HSM

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

What lens or lenses do you already have?

Note that there will often be no single lens that would be "best" for any single genre.  It really depends upon what you want to capture.

If you like to take images where you can get a large amount of information in the photos and/or to exaggerate items in the foreground, wide angle lenses would be what to go for.

However, if you prefer to capture items far off, or have photos that help you isolate things, then telephotos lenses would be what to go for.

What I would recommend is find a web site where you can search on focal lengths (e.g. 500px).   Then, search on things like "landscape 24mm" and "landscape 200mm".  That should give you an idea of what images will be like at wide angle and telephoto respectively.   Which do you prefer?

--
Ricky