cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recording time limit on Canon EOS 2000D Camera of 12 minutes

Elijah1977
Apprentice

Canon EOS 2000D (New Camera to me) Only records for 12 minutes and some seconds.  I cannot find a reason for this limitation  and I am a YouTuber.  I need my camera to be able to record for a longer period of time, How do I make this able to record without limitations.  or until I press the button again to stop recording. I upgraded the firmware from the canon website, but it still does not remove this limitation. Please help. I have also searched for this on the forum and been unable to find a solution.  I am in the United States.  Google search saying this is a common issue and a built in limit that Canon puts on all of their cameras.  I hate this and I want it gone.  this is a very expensive camera for me and I am new to Canon cameras. I also saw that there is a firmware called Magic Lantern, but this will void the warranty.  I do not want to do anything to this brand new Camera to void the warranty.  Please help me find a solution to this. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The 4GB file size limitation is a limitation of the FAT32 file system used by the card.  It is the same file system used by MS Windows.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Not to sound like wise guy or anything, but have you downloaded a copy of the User Manual.

D748661F-7513-4352-A576-5F9FE8E6CE5E.jpeg

The 4GB file size limitation is a limitation of the FAT32 file system used by the card.  It is the same file system used by MS Windows.