cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor picture quality, user error with new t7i. Looking for tips...

mrkblm
Apprentice

I'm new to photography and I recently purchased a t7i w/ 18-135mm lens.  On my most recent trip, most of the pictures were too bright or faces were dark.  A lot of the time, the sun was behind the subject or two the side because of being on the coast.  Most of my shots were taken in Landscape Mode or AV.  However, the pics came out poorly.  What is the reasoning?  Also, are there any good tutorials you recommend so I can learn how to properly use the camera?  Here are couple examples:

IMG_1203.JPGIMG_1016.JPG

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I will give you credit for acknowledging you are not familiar with the camera, instead of blaming the camera for poor images.  Canon has an online"Canon Digital Learning Center."

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/explore/learning-center

The following series of 13 videos is very helpful.  They are titled "EOS 101"

http://learn.usa.canon.com/galleries/galleries/tutorials/eos101_cll.shtml

The most important concepts to learn are "exposure triangle" and "depth of field".  There is a lot to learn in the CDLC. There is an entire set of terms that you need to learn about that would be helpful to understand before someone tried to explain your photos.

Basically, you have discovered the most crucial component of photography.  It is all about the light:how much and from what direction.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

Did you shoot JPG or RAW?

If you shot RAW you should have no problem fixing most of the photos with post processing.

If you shot JPG there is still a chance you can fix some of them.

Quicky processing in Lightroom

original (6).jpg

original (7).jpg