Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please recommend lens for portraits

shumonsaha
Enthusiast

Hi.

I am totally new to Photography.

Bought Canon 600d with 18-135 lens. But it has lowest fstop@3.5.

please suggest a lens for portraits

Budget ideally at close to 400$

Maximum stretched budget 600 $ only if it makes significant difference to a very amateur basic photographer like me.

rgds

Suman

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

cicopo
Elite

The Canon 50 mm f 1.4 lens is most likely what your looking for. On a crop body it will act like an 80 mm lens with a shallow Depth of Field (DOF) when shot wide open or near wide open

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

cicopo
Elite

The Canon 50 mm f 1.4 lens is most likely what your looking for. On a crop body it will act like an 80 mm lens with a shallow Depth of Field (DOF) when shot wide open or near wide open

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thank you. for the quick and conscise reply. I think I will go for this one.

I had checked the 50 mm and also 85 mm lens. Was not sure which one to buy until I saw your reply.

ScottyP
Authority
I agree with Ciccopo. 50mm is probably the best length for portraits on a crop sensor. And the f/1.4 version is probably the best choice at around your budget.

You could also go for the Canon 85mm f/1.8, but you would need rom to stand back a bit with a crop body, and you would tend to get tighter head or head and shoulders only shots.

If you don't already have Lightroom for post processing, I would get it. Massive improvement/fixes to your images.

If you don't have a speed lite flash I would get one as my next equipment purchase after the lens.