cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My canon eos rebel t6 won't focus

CathleenRau
Contributor

I have only had my camera for about a month. It will not focus on any setting. I have tried cleaning the lenses and the mirrors. What am I doing wrong?

17 REPLIES 17

cicopo
Elite

Check the switch on the lens. Cycyle it a few times to clean it's contacts or to have it fully against the stop in the AF position.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I'm not really sure what you mean by all this. I'm new to the fancy camera game. I have the lense set to AF, but I just don't know how to cycle and clean it like you said. It takes great pictures if I don't use the digital focusing, and just use the "scene intelligent auto", looking through the viewer, like an older, non digital camera. 

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@CathleenRau wrote:

I have only had my camera for about a month. It will not focus on any setting. I have tried cleaning the lenses and the mirrors. What am I doing wrong?

Cleaning the lenses and mirrors may have been a mistake, most especially the mirror box inside the DSLR.

Go outside on a sunny day.  Put the camera in Green [A] mode.  Try to take some pictures.  If it does not work, contact Canon.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

It was having this problem before I cleaned the mirrors, I only tried cleaning them in hopes of fixing the focusing problem, and all that consisted of was wiping the down with a clean, dry cloth.

@CathleenRau wrote:

It was having this problem before I cleaned the mirrors, I only tried cleaning them in hopes of fixing the focusing problem, and all that consisted of was wiping the down with a clean, dry cloth.