cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the Canon EOS SL3 good?

berno01
Apprentice

Hello, I am looking for a camera that I could get for under $1000. I am fairly new to this but I have experience in drone videography. The main use I would plan on using this for is to try to get some cinematic footage and b-roll mainly when I’m traveling. I want something that gives me full manual control over the settings such as iso as well. Would the Canon EOS SL3 be a good option for that? I’m seeing some places say it would t and is mainly for streaming, as well as not having 24FPS 1080p is kind of a bummer. If this couldn’t do what I wanted is there anything else that can be recommended? Thank you in advance

3 REPLIES 3

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

The Canon EOS R50 is designed as a vlogging camera. This camera doesn't have 24 fps. If you want 24 fps look into the EOS R10. But that's at your max budget though. The SL 3 could work well for you. But the SL 3 and a lot of these entry cameras won't give you the features you want. The EF/ EF-S Mount and DSLRs are being phased out. Which is what the Rebel SL 3 is. There being replaced by EOS R series RF Mount mirrorless cameras. The EOS M series EF-M mirrorless cameras are a dead end system. Canon is replacing it with APS-C RF Mount cameras.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,