cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Settings for filming a yoga class video?

LisaJones
Apprentice

Hi there! I am new to figuring out my M50 and I can't seem to get my settings right for filming a yoga video. One of the problems seems to be that when I am facing away or toward the camera, the camera adjusts and changes the video's lighting dramatically. I'm also not sure what is the best focus setting, since the camera is static but I am moving. I am filming inside with a lighting setup. 

Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I've filmed way too many videos that end up being unusable because I can't figure out my settings!

Thanks in advance for your patience with newbie questions.

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Without actually being there, no one can tell you what exposure settings to use.  The Green [A+] mode should always work, but not always very well.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

I would either use P (Program) mode or even M (Manual).  Manual would not change any exposure values at all.

Having said that, you'd need to experiment with what settings would be best.  I would start with an aperture of f/4, a shutter speed of 1/60 second (see below) and then adjust ISO as needed.  I would start around ISO 800 and then go higher (or lower).

For the most natural looking movement in video, the shutter speed should be 1 over twice the frame rate.  I'm assuming you're recording at 30 frames per second, so that is why a good shutter would then be 1/60 second.   Note that you may see values such as 29.97 instead of 30 as you view certain settings.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

LisaJones
Apprentice