cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 7D Indoor Sports Photography with No Flash

forloines
Contributor

Brand NEW to any sort of Photography, let alone the Canon EOS 7D-Indoor Sports without flash issue.

Hello!

I'm new to photography.  Normally, I use 'Auto' everything when I take pictures of indoor sports for a HS cheerleading team, but someone got upset with the use of the flash.  

I have a Canon EOS 7D.  The only lens I have is:  EFS 18-200mm 0.45m/1.5ft.

I am vaguely aware that the f/ should be lower to allow more light in, I think the lowest it goes is 4.5.  Zooming in makes this worse.

What settings could I use to make this work without the flash.  With the flash, everything's great.

Any constructive help for a "photography dummy" would be great.  If I need a different lens, that would be 'ok', too.

Thank you!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

What focal lengths are you currently using not factoring in the variable aperture limiting you. Before we recommend either the 24-70mm F/2.8 or the 70-200mm F/2.8 lens. Canon has discontinued the EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS II USM lens but they can be found on the used market. If you want a new lens the EF 700-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM lens has replaced the older version. I own the EF 700-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM its a very good lens.

-Demetrius

EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM (Retired), EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM & EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM

EOS 40D (Retired) & 5D Mark IV

430EX III-RT, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

View solution in original post

42 REPLIES 42

I am currently looking at obtaining the Canon DF 70-200mm f/2.8L is II USM Lens.