cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debating if I need a new body right now.

hanna66
Apprentice

I've been having my rebel t3i on and off for years. I wouldn't say I'm a fresh beginner, but I won't ti dive more into it. I want to get into editing as well.

In my process to find a camera I think the R7 makes the most sense for me. However that would cost me over $1k.

I have a 34mm and a 50mm. Really what I'm missing is better AF and a larger lense for nature shots like birds.

I get a bit frustrated. I don't want to get another cheaper camera though. I want a decent one to invest in. I don't need full frame.

$1400 on just a body is a lot. Then I'd be buying lenses.

It may just end up being worth it. I'm going to sell a mtb for up to $1k which will fund my purchase.

I also don't want to put 500-700 into a ef-s lense

4 REPLIES 4

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

Have you looked into the R10 if budget is a concern of yours. What exactly is your budget to spend on a camera. Does this include a kit or body only. Also no EF-S lenses cost $700 your looking into Full Frame lenses at that point. 

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Hanna and Welcome to the forum:
As always, the decision to upgrade is a challenging one.  So, to try to guide your thinking I have a few observations and questions for you to ponder.

My Understanding:  You say that you have a 35mm and 50mm lens, and want to do wildlife photography, particularly birds and you have a budget of about $1,000.
Here is your dilemma: if  you want an APS-C camera that is part of the R-series with IBIS and animal eye tracking, then you are correct in saying that the R7 is the most likely body.  You could go for a lesser body like the R10, R50 or R100, but as wildlife cameras they will miss out on IBIS, which is not critical, but very helpful.