cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSLR vs Mirrorless

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

As a photography newbie I find it interesting that a lot of the recommendations are to go mirrorless. As an engineer, I question that logic. SLRs and DLSRs have been around a lot longer than mirrorless cameras. I think technology can only improve so I would not be inclined to jump into something that new given the price.

11 REPLIES 11

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

I'm not ready to trade in my STI for a Tesla yet either....

But I was happy to put my 6D2 into retirement once I saw what mirrorless could do.  No doubt all of my DSLR's have a special place in my heart. 

Here, this might help you decide which is best for you.

DSLR vs mirrorless - Canon Europe (canon-europe.com)  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Except DSLR's and SLR's were always a kludgey nightmare to allow you to see through the lens for framing. Mirrorless cuts out the middleman, allowing you to see *exactly* what is going to be shot.

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

A lot depends on your own circumstances:

I am an engineer too, but am also a photographer, now retired.  I love the tech in its own right, but I am the first to say that the photographer's skill are still a dominant factor.  Can I suggest you run your eye over This post.

As to mirrorless vs DSLRs.  First mirrorless technology has actually been around for a while.  Canon were the last off the rank with a Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera (MILC) with the APS-C crop sensor EOS-M series, now 10 years old,  The EOS R - their first full-frame MILC was released in 2018.