cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing camera for slow motion recording and playback

MrGreenJeans
Apprentice

I am seeking guidance because Im considering purchasing a camera with the ability to video record footage and have the ability to save and playback the footage in slow motion.....I have no knowledge at all in this field and don't know where to start and upon researching without any knowledge and very limited time it becomes overwhelming to understand and research the information I find with my workload.....Any help from experienced fellow videographers would be much appreciated.....

The main purpose and intent for my camera needs are for the purpose of taking videos in a motorsport we are involved in....We primarily compete in daylight or dusk and at nighttime...in nighttime there is generally fair lighting from lights set up around the track.

We would be recording the vehicle anywhere from a distance range of 30 feet up to 320 feet....I would need to slow recording down to playback in a speed where it takes up to around 10 seconds to view 1 second of footage...smooth and clear playback footage is pretty important....would prefer a nice smooth clear image with no blur or jitter upon playback....Im speculating here but Im assuming smoothness, clarity, etc... to some degree go hand in hand with cost....Recording would be done either handheld or on a tripod and ability to zoom in and out during recording would be ideal...