cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon mirrorless camera suggestions

Babemgnet
Contributor

I would like to see a Mirrorless camera, with 45MP, Face and eye focus tracking, manual shutter, no video at all for professional still photographers, and sports photographers.  Cut the cost. Maybe the R1?  If you want video an R1C?

As a news paper Photographer I don't use, need, or want video.  I do sports photography and would want a fast shutter speed, and face and eye tracking.  I own two 90D's and they're o.k. I also own a 5d Markii, great for still portraits but not for sports.  I still use my 40D, and D60 for fire scene photographs. The R3 would be nice, but, the cost is a bit much, and only 24MP.  Full frame all the bells and whistles for still work no video.  Thanks.

27 REPLIES 27

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

The R5 would be a good choice for Full Frame like the older 5D series. The R7 would be a good choice for sports but its and APS-C camera like the older 7D series. Or the cheaper R10 which is the successor to the 90D and xxD series.

40D, 5D IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II, EF 28-135mm, EF 50 F/1.8 STM

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

The poster specified 45MP.  The R7 is only 32.5MP.  The R10 is 24MP.

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

45MP, Face and eye focus tracking... sounds like you want an R5.

If you want a stills camera that has no video features at all, well, good luck, I don't think such a camera exists.  But with the R5, just leave it in photo mode, and there's no reason the video features will ever bother you.  Even the menus will just have the stills features.

Unless you really want a top-of-the-line camera at a bottom-of-the-line price, in which case, too bad -- no-one makes that camera.