cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel EOS T3 Camera with18-55mm lens, What other zoom lenses are available?

CThomas
Apprentice

I currently have a Canon Rebel EOS T3 Camera with the standard 18mm-55mm lens.  I am interested in getting an additional zoom lens to take action shots of my daughters basketball games and tennis matches.  What are my options for zoom lenses with the Canon Rebel T3 if any?  Please help!! I am new to photography and any help will be appriciated!!

5 REPLIES 5

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Any Canon EF or EF-S lens will fit your T3. (Not EF-M.)

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/products/groups/lenses/ef/ef/!ut/p/z1/04_Sj9CPykss...

Since you are just starting out, and you are in daylight situations, I would suggets the 55-250 STM zoom lens. Inexpensive, good reports from users, and good zoom range.

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/products/details/lenses/ef/telephoto-zoom/ef-s-55-...

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Thank you John

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"... action shots of my daughters basketball games and tennis matches."

Your kit lens and the suggestion above of the 55-250mm are too slow (too small aperture) for any indoor basketball game I ever attended.  Either may work for an outdoor tennis match, however.

You need to get a lens with an aperture of f2.8 or more.  And constant aperture is better and much advisable. A good, at a fairly reasonable price, choice is the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens in favor of your current kit lens.

The Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM Lens could be a choice for the outdoor tennis matches but it will not do well in a gym.