cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon A1 tune up price?

dknapp1117
Contributor

My son is wondering about how to shoot pics on film.  I am the original owner of a Canon A1 that I loved back in the day. I haven’t used it for 20 odd years and I think the shutter is sticky. What price would I expect for a general tune up and cleaning for just the body? Where’s a good place to send it out to?

Thank you 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Would be hard to guess about something like this.  Primarily because you might have difficulty finding someone who is capable or willing to work on a camera this old. 

Try garrys cameras in illinois.  Shows a flat fee of $78.  Note: I have no experience with this company

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Would be hard to guess about something like this.  Primarily because you might have difficulty finding someone who is capable or willing to work on a camera this old. 

Try garrys cameras in illinois.  Shows a flat fee of $78.  Note: I have no experience with this company

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Thank you, I will give them a try. Pro Photo in Washington DC was also suggested, but I haven’t heard from them yet.

normadel
Authority
Authority

What leads you to think the shutter is slow? It is electronically controlled. Slowness is not very likely.

@normadel wrote: