cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 80D LP-E6N battery not fully charging

Imsandy
Apprentice
I’ve been using canon 80d for past 3 years and I’ve been using it occasionally. I haven’t touched my camera for around 2 months recently and I noticed the battery discharged completely. These batteries are from original packing. Again when I charged, the light in charger turns green very quickly and when I put battery in camera it shows only 2 bars. I’ve been trying it again and again but every time I notice it is only partially charged. What does it mean? Does the battery life come to end? What went wrong with batteries?
17 REPLIES 17

Imsandy
Apprentice
It was new camera when purchased and battery came with the camera if there is question about genuineness

@Imsandy wrote:
It was new camera when purchased and battery came with the camera if there is question about genuineness

Batteries do not last forever.  Once you begin to use one, the life expectancy can be 3-5 years, or a couple of hundred recharges.  But, one would expect to get more use out of a battery than you seem to have experienced.  You could also have a bad charger, too.

I suggest that you simply buy a new CANON battery, perhaps even a charger, and move on.  Make sure to only buy your battery gear from an authorized Canon dealer, like B&H Photo Video in Manhattan.  I strongly discourage buying batteries and chargers from Amazon, much less eBay.  There is a lot of counterfeit battery gear out there. 

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Excellent post. Had cheap copies of Canon LP-E6N sent to me wen I ordered Canon batteries, and they died in months. Help yourself in the future: get a silver Sharpie marker and write the date you purchased the batteries on each: oldest are least reliable.
Chris P. Bacon