cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 700D/Rebel T5i for Astrophotography

shaysnile65
Apprentice

I'm fairly new to astrophotography and photography in general, I was thinking about getting a 700D as my beginner camera, how does it perform in low light? Is the level of detail pleasing considering it is 18MP unlike some cheap 24MP Nikon sensors? And is it good enough with a kit lens before I buy a prime? Please I'd like to hear some thoughts based on experience I'm kinda lost

7 REPLIES 7

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

The T5i is based on the Digic 5 and has a native ISO to 12800.  It doesn't have dual pixel AF

You should not expect to be wowed by its performance in night time or low light.  With it, your lens choices will matter.  

You're going to need some additional equipment (Tripod, telescope, etc.) and one or more lenses.

I would recommend aiming a little higher.  

T7i, T8i, SL3, 80D or 90D

Here's why.  The overall performance differences between the T5i and the bodys I mentioned are better in many key areas.  .

ISO performance

Dual pixel AF

Higher MP's

Trade-offs are made in video support (4k vs. 1080p) and AF performance 9 vs.45), but you'll get better low light performance from any body with a newer image sensor.

T5i or SL3?  The SL3 is a better investment in the long run.  Same AF performance, but the SL3 has better ISO and video capability

So you need to consider what the intended use is.  Nighttime photography or something that performs all around.  Video is important or not important to me, etc.

You have not established a budget, so I'll leave it here.  Others will have additional feedback.   

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend