cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel XS saying busy and won't take pictures

mliz2486
Contributor

My camera worked fine the other day.  Now, it won't take pictures at all.  When I go to take a picture, it will act like it is focusing by flashing and such but it will never go through.  It always says busy.  I have tried all modes, and none will work not even without flash. 

I have also taken the battery out, taken the card out and reformatted it, and cleared all camera settings.  Can anyone help?  I have a newborn that I would really like to be able to capture. 🙂

Thank you ahead of time!

156 REPLIES 156

laurac
Contributor

Hi Elizabeth

I was following your question because I'm having the exact same issue.  I am a mother of 2 little boys and have a Canon Rebel T1 EOS that  i've been using for about 3 years to capture my boys.  I always use automatic mode and have loved this camera for it's quality photos, but suddenly the other day it did the same thing yours did....just stopped shooting. says busy...sounds like it's trying to focus but won't shoot.  and will shoot inMF mode.  I didn't drop it or damage it in any way and of course am now out of warranty. I know if I take in for service it will likely be $100s and I"m wondering if I may be better off buying a new bundle.  i think it's rediculousto have to consider that after only 3 years but i suspect these just aren't built to last anymore and my money may be better spent on new stuff. Have you taken yours in yet?  if so what did they say?

I'm also in limbo like you and missing moments without my good camera around.

Thanks for your input.
Laura

laurac, if your camera _will_ take a photo in MF mode but will not in AF mode then it usually means the camera is not able to lock focus. 

There can be a few reasons: