cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bought a 750D (Rebel T6i) last month - all pictures overexposed

catchuec
Apprentice

I bought a Canon 750D last month and used it for my trip to South Africa. I shot in raw format in various modes - Av, Tv, Auto etc. but all my pics are superexposed and all my trip memories are ruined. I have tried to recover a lot of pictures by adjusting the higlights and exposure in Lightroom but many pictures are so white that they are ruined for ever.

Given I have been doing photography for a few years, I am sure it is not about the settings I used. Can somebody let me know what could be the problem. I am uploading a few pictures by converting them to JPEG as is (i.e. without any white balance or exposure adjustment) - you can see what has happened.

I have also tried clearing all settings as mentioned on various forums and taking more pictures but they are still overexposed.IMG_1902.jpg

Please help me out - I need to get this rectified soon as I am up for a Mexico trip soon.

IMG_2030.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Here is your biggest mistake.

"... mostly in AV mode with auto IS ..."

I suggest you select a ISO and stick with it until you deem it necesary to change it.  I don't like letting the camera use a floating ISO and I never use it.   All the photos you have shared have no real aperture value requirements. What is your reasoning? These shots could be easily done using P (Program mode) and a fixed ISO of 100.

As to the softness issues, you are probably there with the kit lens.  You might alter your own technique and help a bit.  Avoid the largest apertuers and the smallest.

The sky is always an issue.  It is usually many stops different than what your subject is.  You can try different Picture Styles in the menu.  You can make your own to bring out the sky better.  But these are usually only for jpg.