cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D Mark IV video setting issues!!!

Saviomendonza
Apprentice

So I'm a photographer, and I do have some experience with video, but I'm really no expert. For whatever reason I just cannot get the video settings on the Mark IV right. I've tried to film something three times now, changing the settings each time, and it still looks like complete trash. The resolution is really low, everything is soft. I'm honestly bewildered.

I've added screen shots below (for context, I'm a self-publisher, so I'm trying to film a live flip-through of my book)

My settings + other details:

5D Mark IV body + 24-70mm lens

Shooting still life on a tripod, natural light.

The book is huge (16.11in), so it's not a small object that I'm zoomed into or anything.

Started filming with a SanDisk 64gb Extreme Pro CF card, switched to a 64gb Extreme Pro SD card

AV mode, F 4.0 , ISO 250

MOV file, FHD, 25.00P, IPB

I first tried filming at FHD 50.00P ALL-I, but the quality was very soft and choppy, and so I read that switching to 25.00P would help with a smoother frame rate, and I did, but the quality is definitely not full HD.

I'm more or less a total amateur in terms of the immense scope/complexity of video, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. And if you need more details or questions please ask, not totally sure how much context to give.

Thanks in advance for the help!

3 REPLIES 3

Mark35mmF2
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi Saviomendonza,

I don't see your sample images, but I have a couple quick tips.