cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom lense for sports

KimMedders
Apprentice

Hi,

I just received a Canon Rebel t5i for my birthday.  I received a lense with the package deal, but I need a lense that will take close up pictures for sports since my sons are both football and baseball players.  I am not a professional photographer and have a budget.  Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!

Kim

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

If you want to be Sports Illustrated close, then you will pay some big bucks.  What lens did you get with the camera?  You can always use a quality, medium telephoto lens, and crop the photo down to Sports Illustrated close up, in many cases.

I think a medium telephoto zoom would work, if you didn't get one with the camera.  Canon makes a couple of ranges of moderate telephoto zoom lenses.  There are the 70-300mm lenses, most of which are budget oriented, and with budget performance.  There are the 55-250mm lenses, which are also budget oriented, but have comparable image quality as the budget oriented 70-300mm lenses.  There are a couple of lenses in those zoom ranges that cost big bucks, though.

Another popular range is the 70-200mm range, and all of those lenses are part of Canon's "L" series of professional quality lenses, which is probably half of what makes them so popular.  If you can swing cost of one the EF 70-200mm f/4 models, either with or without Image Stabilizatoin, then you might be pleased with one of those.