cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which lens to get? 24-70 f/4 vs 24-105

Ltc808
Contributor
I'm brand new to photography and I'm getting the 5D mark iii but I don't know which bundle to get. One comes with the 24-70 f/4 lens and the other comes with the 24-105. The 24-70 is about $200 more. I'm planning to shoot pretty much everything (landscapes, portraits, close ups, etc). I'm not sure which one I should get.

I'm also planning to get a lens for astrophotography a little later on (f lower than 2?). I was thinking about the rokinon 24 mm f/1.4. It's a manual focus and I'm new to all this so I'm not sure (magic lantern?). Lenses with autofocus are way too expensive for me. Any recommendations for Milky Way lenses?

So, would it be best for me to pick the 24-105 and save $200 to go towards an astrophotography lens? And any advice would be greatly appreciated (lenses, tripods, backpacks, flashes [looking at speed lite 430EX III], etc)

Thanks in advance!
31 REPLIES 31

amfoto1
Authority

The 24-70/4 is a newer lens that I haven't used, but by all reports is quite sharp and capable. In comparison, the 24-105 is an older lens that's got some issues. Optically there are cheaper lenses that rival it. I am sure you can find some reviews online that compare them. The-digital-picture.com has their usual test and sample images done with each of them, too... where you can see for yourself how they compare. To me, the 24-70 looks quite superior at 24mm, the 24-105 appears to have a very slight edge at 35mm and 50mm, and the 24-70 has the edge again at 70mm (I only looked at the different focal lengths at f4, since that's probably the most demanding and least sharp... but you can compare stopped down images, too, if you wish).