cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Right EF lens for indoor sports

Kenialanuza
Contributor

Hello! I’m an amateur and new to digital photography.
I have an EOS Rebel T7 with a lens 75-300mm without stabilizer. I’ve been taking ice hockey pictures with this camera for 2 years now but I’m very frustrated because the images are very blurry and dark. When I see them in the camera they don’t look as bad as when I pass them to the computer or my iPhone. I’m thinking on updating the lens but I’m not sure which one would be the ideal to help me get decent images. Please, recommendations for the lens and the right software for editing. Thank you in advance! 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Thank you for following up so quickly with the "shooting" information because a lot of people don't.

Those parameters seem reasonable and that is not a bad image.  A big part of the difficulty of shooting hockey is you generally have to shoot through the protective screen and it kills contrast.  A good way to combat this is to capture images in RAW instead of JPG which gives you far more ability to make adjustments in post over a JPG file.

Canon's DPP software does a good job of editing and conversion of JPG to RAW files.  It is simple to use and free to Canon camera owners so download it if you haven't already.  You can adjust brightness, contrast, relative levels of shadow and highlight, color temp (aka white balance), etc. in post after you capture in RAW.  Just doing that will help a LOT and I think you will be amazed at what you can do with a bit of contrast adjustment and adjusting the overall gain along with shadow and highlight level.