cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF800mm F11 IS STM Images do not seem sharp...ringing around image

dcomora
Contributor

I am new to Canon products and recently purchased an R5 with the the RF 800 fixed f11 lens.  I have been shooting birds over the past few months.   I have been comparing my shots to those I see posted on line and it seems I am not able to get the sharp focus that I see others getting.  I am using the animal eye focus setting, I am shooting at  shutter speeds of  between 1000 and 2000, my ISO is usually never above 2000.   I have the image stabilization engaged and I most recently used a tripod.   When I zoom into my images, I see a little "ringing" around the outside of the birds and birds eyes.   Someone said I should use Topaz AI sharpen to get sharper images, but I am thinking that should not be necessary.  Is it possible that the lens is out of calibration or am I still doing something wrong?  I also have an R 25 - 105 lens and photos are super sharp. Any advice would be appreciated. 

40 REPLIES 40

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

On a tripod, first try focusing on some non-moving object (ensure it has high detail in it) that would be around the same distance as the birds.   Are you able to capture sharp photos?

Also, what focusing mode are you using when capturing the birds?

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Hi, Thanks for your input.  I am using the Animal Eye focus, which I have set up for back focus on the AF-ON button.  I also have spot focus on the "*" button which I use if I can't get the animal eye focus to catch or if it is stuck on the wrong subject.  Here is shot taken on a tripod of a very stil Jackalope. the specs are 8192 x 5464 (before crop).. size is 7.63MB, F11, exposure time 1/1250, iso 1250 also,  Used the animal eye focus.   In a post below I took same shot with R 24 to 105 lens and detail is great.  7B8A7554.jpg