cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF lens comparable to the EF 85MM F/1.8 or adapter

dancephoto
Contributor

Hello, I have a R50. I just purchased an EF 85MM 1.8 But realized it would need an adapter to fit. Can anyone recommend a RF lens that would be similar? should i just get an adapter?. Looking to do portraits but also low light dance recital photos, so movement, light changes, etc. I am not a professional, at all. So looking to spend no more that 500. Thank you

19 REPLIES 19

Yes that is what I used, but from the back of the theater I could not get clear faces. 

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Post a sample or two of what you got. It may not have been the lens's fault. Leave the exif data on the samples.

A little more info how far back and how dark is the auditorium? Is this a dance contest?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

First let me be clear all photographic gear has its limits. Its possible you have exceeded the limit of your gear. This means a high quality or level camera and more professional lenses are the answer. Of course these don't come cheap so another question is how much do you want to spend on getting top quality photos.

As an example Canon has the Canon RF 28-70mm f/2 L USM Lens which is the fastest lens of this type made. However it is nearly $3000 dollars. Plus there are better cameras than the R50 for shooting in challenging light conditions but again they aren't cheap. The expected EOS R5 Mk II as an example but again at nearly $3000 bucks.

But first u/l some samples of what you got. That will help determine if your current gear can do the job. Let's hope it can!

EB

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend