cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about lenses

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

In another thread several comments were made about the inferiority of the 75-300 zoom lens. (I am a beginner but I have one of these and I understand the issues). If memory serves me correctly the 70-300 was the recommendation.There are two versions at considerably different price point. I can't specify a budget because I'm sure my CFO would say I don't have one.

8 REPLIES 8

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and I was the one who posted the review of the 70-300 series HERE .

Either of these lenses would be better than the 75-300 units, so really it's down to what you can get budget for.  Canon had some of the MkI version as a deal recently - I have located the lenses in question at that site HERE , although the MkI version is out of stock at present.  

As always much depends on what you are shooting, and producing.  However, if your comment about a 'CFO' is to be taken literally, as opposed to your domestic partner, you are looking at a business where the quality of your images is a part of your value, service or product presentation, then it is worth getting glass the will do your work justice.

What exactly are you shooting and what is your intended output: i.e. large prints, digital display, web and social media?  All of these have different demands.

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

I shoot mostly wildlife. SO=CFO. I'm retired. At some point I would consider photos worthy of printing. but not a priority at this point.