cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with recommending the best lens for street portraits

Court41
Contributor

Hello:) I am new to the Canon community and just starting my photography journey. I have read so many different opinions on the best lens. Need help with what others truly recommend. I have been shooting a lot of street photography or outdoors with my subjects but want to get a good lens finally! I am looking for something for street portraits and indoors. I’m torn between the 3 most common . The “nifty fifty” , the 85mm or the 24-70mm. I have read so much I don’t know what would be best. I need a lens that would work for outside portraits for those beautiful shots and also inside for possibly natural or low light. Help please as I am a newbie:) thank you! 

20 REPLIES 20

Carrying case for sure and yes have a tri-pod. That baby is pretty heavy 🙂 thank you for all your help! 

If you're using a tripod. Attach the lens tripod collar to the tripod. Do Not attach the tripod to the camera body. If you're not using a tripod. your left hand to support the lens. NEVER rely on the lens mount to support the weight of a lens. As a general rule always support the lens with your left hand. Especially with telephoto and super telephoto lenses. Do you have thus tripod collar below. 

213591-1987663_02.jpg

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D & Sigma 17-50mm F/2.8 EX DC OS HSM

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Thankfully with this deal I got it came with a collar and hood and cap:) I hold onto the lens with my left hand like it’s a newborn 🙂 

rs-eos
Elite