cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with recommending the best lens for street portraits

Court41
Contributor

Hello:) I am new to the Canon community and just starting my photography journey. I have read so many different opinions on the best lens. Need help with what others truly recommend. I have been shooting a lot of street photography or outdoors with my subjects but want to get a good lens finally! I am looking for something for street portraits and indoors. I’m torn between the 3 most common . The “nifty fifty” , the 85mm or the 24-70mm. I have read so much I don’t know what would be best. I need a lens that would work for outside portraits for those beautiful shots and also inside for possibly natural or low light. Help please as I am a newbie:) thank you! 

20 REPLIES 20

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

One of the first things to learn about photography is that there is no such thing as a “best lens” for any type of photography.  If there were, then there would not be such a wide selection to choose from.  There would only be one type of lens available for sale, which simply isn’t the case.

Your question is more broad than you may realize.  For example, what type of indoor shooting?  Casual photos around the house during a family gathering?  Volleyball or basketball in a high school gym?  A live performance by a band in a dark night club?  Etc.

Also, the type of image sensor in the camera you are using should play a factor in what recommendations that you might receive.  You will get different results from the same lens with an APS-C sensor compared to a full frame sensor.  What camera are you using?

For a full frame sensor, my favorite lens for indoor photos of family events at home is Sigma 35mm f/1.4 Art lens.  I also like the Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM, too, for video.  My favorite lens for capturing outdoor photos “in tourist mode” is the Canon EF 24-70mm  f/2.8L II USM