cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hawaii pictures - Rebel T5 Lens Recommendations

Tmolsen
Apprentice

I am an amateur and normally use my EOS Rebel T5 on sport mode. I have 2 lens’ currently, 18-55mm and 55-250mm. I am going to Hawaii and would love to capture some great pics while on our whale watching excursion, doors off helicopter tour and waterfalls. I probably do not have time to learn how to use all of the features of my camera and master them before the trip. Is there a new lens you would recommend and a camera setting(s)?

8 REPLIES 8

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

I'd recommend reviewing the user guide and doing as much as I could to become familiar with the cameras features you might not have been aware of.  This should go a long way helping to improve your picture taking.  

You should be shooting in RAW image format.  Next, you can install Canon's Digital Photo Professional.  This is a free post-processing image editor that can help you make adjustments to your images.  

I don't think it's necessary to buy another lens until you have mastered your camera and image editing.  If after that you feel like you need something more (example longer reach), we'd be happy to make some recommendations.  

T5 Support

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

How to photograph from a helicopter | Mike Wardynski Photography

If it is a trip of a lifetime I would suggest that you do invest some time in learning your camera features.

A zoom lens would give you more reach but due to the vibration of the helicopter getting your subject in the viewfinder and keeping it there could be a problem.