cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM lens needs service after a fall

Cristina_Vizir
Apprentice
Hello Community! I'm a beginner photographer. So, this is the first time when my camera fell off from the tripod, luckily on the carpet. The camera works well, but my Canon Lens Ef 24-70 mm is kind of loose around the ring for focal length. I took some photos, and it seems to focus, but I have to support the lens with my hand. Please give me some advice where to repair it? How much it would be? Unfortunately, Canon is not Servicing anymore this kind of Lens. So, don't know where to seek for some advice and support. Please let me know if you had a similar problem 448983590_3860338197581296_6700768848635030827_n.jpg448635111_1558453641733936_7258062003318612991_n (1).jpg
Thank you!
5 REPLIES 5

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

This is one of the sad stories none of us like hear, but we all know accidents happen.  🙁

Since Canon no longer services this lens, I would suggest doing a google search for Canon lens repair with your ZipCode.  You may find a local repair shop who can still service your lens.

If you strike out there, or find that the cost to repair exceeds replacement, you can look at sites like Canon Refurbished, KEH, LensRental, B&H or Adorama.  They have great used departments.  

With these suggestions, also comes some advice.  Its a good idea to use a secondary form of retention when your camera is out of its bag.  Wrist strap, aux cable to secondary retention point.  We all fumble and tripods can fail.  QR arca mount, screw type mount, whatever.  I even use a wrist strap when my camera is mounted via an arca lens plate to my tripod.  Its takes 2 sec to slip on off, but only 1 sec for your camera and lens to take a bad spill.  😉

Hope things work out.  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA