cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 24-70mm repair

Ricki
Apprentice

My camera and lens and I went for a quick swim last fall. Luckily my camera is sealed and it didn't get damaged with the lake water, but the 24-70mm lens quit working. Does anyone know if Canon can fix or do something with it? The camera shop in  Roseville CA says since its electronic, the stuff got wet.

Any help would be appreciated. Im an amateur photographer just trying to make some memories for folks.

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Canon has not made a waterproof SLR, DLSR or Mirrorless body's to date.  Maybe with a housing, but not one that is swim proof on its own.  If your body got submerged and it still works at all, you are a lucky man lady.  I find it hard to believe.

If it were me, I'd replace the lens.  Why, because I suspect as it gets taken apart... (every single piece) that the cost in time and materials will exceed the cost of a new lens.  But you can always try.    

This is where it starts:

Canon U.S.A., Inc. | Service Request

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Thanks Rick!! PS, Im a lady 🙂

Noted and corrected.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend