cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to live stream with a Canon EOS C100 video camera

Ben2013
Apprentice

Hi, I'm very new to live streaming and have been having some problems getting it set up. I'm hoping to live stream through Google Hangout on Air, but haven't been able to live stream through anything at this point.

The equipment I am using is:

-A Canon EOS C100 with HDMI out
-A Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with HDMI in and Thunderbolt cable out
-A 13-inch Early 2011 MacBook Pro with Thunderbolt cable in
-Audio cable connecting the video camera to the Shuttle 

I've been using Flash Media Live Encoder to try to get the camera live stream setup. The Blackmagic settings do show up in Flash Media Live Encoder but I can't get the picture to show up. (The picture does show up in FMLE if I use the Mac's built-in FaceTime HD Camera). 

So, does anyone know how I can get the picture from the Canon C100 video camera to show up? There are quite a few Blackmagic settings, and I've tried each with no success. Any and all help with this matter is greatly appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11

Mykolas
Authority

Ben2013,

Thank you for posting!

The HDMI port on the EOS C100 will send out a live signal that you can pick up on, but we have not tested and therefore cannot guarantee that the signal will be properly received when adapted from HDMI to Thunderbolt.  Have you tried capturing the video signal directly over the HDMI connection without changing over to Thunderbolt?

If this is a time sensitive-matter, additional support options are available at Contact Us.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

Hi Mike, thanks a lot for your reply.

I have connected the C100 to a TV via HDMI and the picture from the camera showed up on the TV. I have not yet tried connecting the C100 directly to a computer via HDMI.